Susan Neder

I Am Fabulous

In Uncategorized on August 21, 2012 at 2:46 am

Image

 

Do you ever have days when you feel like your life is a big science experiment, and the results are not always pleasant or predictable? I have been feeling like that a lot lately.

I think the culprit is “change”. I have tried to figure out why we all dread change so much unless it is of our choosing and completely under our control. That is certainly part of it. If we did not choose it, we cannot predict it and can’t control it, and we often don’t like it much.

Familiarity is comfortable and predictability gives us a false sense that we can control aspects of our lives that we really can’t; but too much familiarity and predictability and sameness creates ruts that become mind numbingly boring. So, like everything else, the trick is some of each, I suppose.

Unfortunately, I am not there yet. Things are so different everyday that anything ordinary and mundane in my life that was there yesterday is really appreciated by me. Things that I took for granted I am feeling very grateful for. I am pretty sure anyone who has been through a period of great upheaval and change, especially if it was not of their choosing, knows what I am talking about.The only thing I know to do about this is to look forward with anticipation for what will come next in my life, instead of dreading it. I have to believe the future will be “fabulous” and I will be “fabulous” in it! Meanwhile I am organizing my predictable pantry into food groups and thanking the oatmeal in my bowl each morning for being there.

  1. I hear you. Hang in there. Love, Suzanne

  2. You ARE fabulous…keep on reminding yourself of that. I am proud of you and your “attitude” towards the unknown.
    Much Love-Lisa

Leave a comment