Susan Neder

Balance – Whoa Nellie – there she goes – catch her!

In Uncategorized on June 6, 2011 at 12:24 am

 

Ok -this business about balance sounds so….so…so easy, but it is so…so…so difficult! I haven’t got it figured out yet, though I think I am doing better – even on the bicycle – it really is the epitome of all my struggles in every area – sometimes I fall off onto my face; sometimes I am scared of falling; sometimes I do great and I feel so proud; often that is the moment right before I crash!

How do you balance wheat grass, green juice and margaritas?I refuse to give up fun, which means I am trying out margarita recipes with fresh lime juice and agave and stevia. What I know for sure is …..I do not know…… my heroes are people like Jimmy Buffet (yes, I am a parrothead), and Oprah, Jann Pitcher, Kim and Walt Moore, Joann and Karl Irons, Joanne and Ray Laird, Cindy and Ron Guftason, Lynn and Doug Cook, the McKeehans, Terri House, Jessie Formwalt, Codie Wilson – OK – STOP – every single rotarian, too many to name – have made me feel special. So have all the people I know a little or not at all, who send me emails, etc. All you guys are awesome – All I can do to thank you is to tell you that I know what you’ve done for me – same with my big, wild family – thank for your prayers and compassion – all of you have gotten me to where I am right now. T

he issue I am working with right now is how do you balance health and comfort? It would be nice if those two things coincided, but I am a southern girl, so that may not happen. For example, what do you do with chicken fried steak and cream gravy? The ultimate southern comfort food, and also “heart attack on a plate”. I only mention this to illustrate my point. If I choose one thing, I have guilt and remorse; if I make a different choice, I have feelings of sadness and loneliness – which is worse? I don’t know – I just know this is more complex than I thought! Barnyard karma is starting to look easy!

  1. You need some of my brother’s home raised, grass fed beef, fresh ground flour from the Amish, lard (Amish make that too), fresh cream and butter from the local dairy and sea salt. We can also do this with some locally raised free range chickens, if you prefer fried chicken :). All of these items can be obtained locally (to me) and there are no chemicals or preservatives in them :). I gotcha covered!! No guilt (except fir the calories and fat, of course :))

  2. Oh – Nellie – you’ve come a long way, baby! Just the fact that you’re trying to balance these things shows that you’re well on your way. You SHOULD feel special ‘cuz you REALLY are! Keep on keeping on … Jess

  3. I love Gina’s idea. All is not lost!

    Margueritas…here’s the trick…use organic limes and lemons and Stevia.
    For 5 Margueritas
    Fill blender half full with ice.
    Squeeze in juice og 1 1/2 limes and 1 lemon.
    Add 5 “glugs” of tequila
    Add 2 “glugs” of cointreau.
    Blend and either add more ice depending on consistency you want or add water to within 1″ from the top. Blend again.

    Very healthy…2 servings of daily fruit which is organic, stevia to cut the calories and liquor to prevent scurvy. Fabulous. Get on it!

    Jessie is right on! You should feel special and not only because you have you have so many that care about you. You special beacause you are!

  4. you can also add a splash of sprite to your margarita or soda water. I don’t use any sweetner but agave sounds goooood. about the southern food- if you want to fry stuff use oil that is better for you than lard. Smart balance has a great tasty blend, trust me. you aren’t abandoning your roots just because you are changing the expression of them. Red wine, good. fresh seafood, good. Try to look at it as a gain and a positive to your life and not a negative. I just quit smoking 7 months ago after 2o years. I understand the feeling of mourning, except mine is cigarettes not food. we all have our addictions but at least you can still eat, right? I can never smoke again. I wish there was a healthy alternative cigarette that didn’t make me high… but alas, there is not. Now-a-days it is easier and I am starting to feel excited to breathe again. Hoping I get a bike for my birthday to start using these new fangled lungs of mine. Sounds like you are right where you should be. Don’t be too hard on yourself and focus on what you DO get to eat not what you DON’T get to eat..

  5. Hi Susan! Emily’s friend Lea, here. I’m struggling with the same need to balance – only in my case it’s chronic liver disease. There are so many things I have to watch out for. And sometimes it seems like it sucks the fun right out of living! But you are right – it is a delicate balance. Some days I definitely tip to the unhealthy side. I have started to think that I’m going about it the wrong way. I have been looking at it as some sort of end goal that I can reach, when really it isn’t. It’s an every day job. And one or two bad decisions won’t permanently tip me over. If the majority of my good choices are still leading to what will hopefully be remission at some point, then if I have biscuits and gravy for breakfast one morning, my body will be able to handle it. Those good decisions make your body stronger, and more able to handle some of the other stuff you throw at it. The key is to make some of the enjoyable things more like ‘special events’, so that you can distance them properly.
    Anyway, good luck and I’m glad you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

