Susan Neder

Comfort foods and healthy eating

In The New "Comfort" Food on April 17, 2011 at 5:43 pm

This business of changing how you eat isn’t as easy as I thought it would be. There is no question that juicing and eating mostly raw foods makes me feel better overall, but it is much more complicated than that when you introduce an emotional attachment to cooked foods, which I have. The situation becomes even more convoluted when you add an emotional attachment to CERTAIN cooked foods – the dreaded “comfort foods”, which, to an old southern girl like me includes things like fried chicken and those really unhealthy yummy substances like cream, butter and cheese! So what’s a good old southern girl to do? Do I have to give up my subscription to Paula Deen’s cooking magazine? Perhaps in the long run that would be best, but for now I am looking for edible substitutes for some of my favorite “evil” foods. Cream and butter are no big problem because coconut milk and almond milk are great and Earth Balance is a good substitute for butter, but cheese…….hmmmm…….vegan cheese substitutes are ok, I guess…their ingredients are natural foods, not chemicals, but things like “pea protein” (what is that?) kind of suck the joy out of a creamy cheese sauce! Oh well, there is no going back on the journey I am on, and I couldn’t anyway because when I do eat something decadent from my old life it doesn’t taste good anymore – what a gyp! No ‘comfort”there! Not only that, but after having eliminated so many things from my diet temporarily during detox, like sugar, dairy, coffee and gluten, I now either get sick or break out in a rash if I eat something I had eliminated. Not everything does this to me, but something does, or a “combination of somethings” does, so now I have to backtrack and figure out what the offending substance is – oh bother! What a novel concept – food for nourishment of the body, not for comfort of the spirit! What am I going to for comfort? I do have a couple of really cute teddy bears…….if you see me in the grocery store with a teddy bear under my arm or sitting in the cart, please be kind; I am still finding my way, and if you accuse me of sleeping with the latest issue of Paula Deen’s magazine under my pillow, I’ll deny it!

Leave a Reply

