Susan Neder

Wheatgrass, Bicycles, and Love

In Power of Love on April 4, 2011 at 4:41 pm

Most everything I read about cancer and staying cancer-free says that a major lifestyle change is necessary.

There are many different theories about why people get cancer, but there does seem to be agreement on the idea that cancer cells flourish in a certain environment and can’t live in another environment, and which environment you have in your body is in large part controlled by what you put in your body and on your body. Actually my reading indicated that this is probably true for almost all serious diseases, not just cancer.

Anyway, I have a lot to learn about all this, but it seems clear that eating organic foods is very important, along with lots of fresh vegetables and vegetable juices. Wheatgrass is a great cleanser for removing toxins from your body, so that is how I ended up with two flats of wheatgrass in my laundry room. When I brought them in, my 100% carnivore husband looked at it and said “what’s that stuff?” I told him and he asked what I planned to do with it, to which I replied that I was going to liquify it in a blender and drink it. The look on his face was priceless! “Why would you do that?” he asked incredulously. “Because it is good for me” I answer. “Huh”, he says, looking at me like he is not sure who I am.

He has stayed silent as I carried out all the products in the house that have yucky chemicals in them and replaced them with organic cleaning products. He hasn’t said a word about all the green juices I drink, or asked why I only want to eat organic foods and eggs from local chickens, or why I am not eating much meat or dairy anymore. Is this indifference? I don’t think so – what I think it is, is love. Sometimes love is expressed by keeping your mouth shut and being supportive, no matter how crazy things look. I did get a look of surprise and a grin when I brought home a bike. I used to love riding bikes as a kid and I wanted to find something fun to do outside as the weather improves, so the bike seemed to be a good idea. When I got it home I planned to hop right on it and ride around, so you can imagine my surprise when I went to throw my leg over the back of the bike and discovered that my leg wouldn’t go that high up. When did that happen? Could this mean that I am not as young as I used to be? Or limber? Hmmm…….. Once I managed to get on the thing, I noticed how skinny the tires were, and how it went way too fast, and what is up with that miserably uncomfortable seat? I don’t remember any of this from before. Maybe this wasn’t my best idea – why is this feeling so wobbly as I try to pedal? Through all of this Mike stayed quiet and tried not to laugh. Yep. That’s love!

  1. As far as Wheatgrass goes, it is much better juiced as opposed to blended. Yay for bikes! i like the mountain bike variety better. Big knobby tires and you can go off-road. Drink some cocnut water while you are at it! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

