Susan Neder

Emus and Other Natural Remedies

In Chemo/Radiation, Karma / Oprah / & 4-H Animals on January 17, 2011 at 8:55 am

The entire subject of natural remedies and aids to healing can really be a tangled forest of information to find your way through, as I have discovered. For example, one of my cousins, who is very knowledgeable about natural remedies, sent me an email saying that someone she knew had recommended using emu oil on the “nether regions”. EMU OIL? Where in the world do you get emu oil? The zoo, perhaps?

Another cousin of mine who is into this stuff wrote in and said that emu oil could be purchased at health food stores, or one could get their own emu and “render” it at home. I guess you could order one over the internet and have it delivered to the hotel…..First of all, though, I had to be sure what an emu actually was, other than a “crossword puzzle” animal. Sadly, animals like emus and okapis are often relegated to “3 down” or “4 across”. If they are in a zoo somewhere they are “filler animals”. Those are the animals you have to walk by to see the exciting animals – the lions and tigers and gorillas and such.  They never put all the good animals together because if they did, then they’d have half a zoo full of lonely cross-eyed antelopes and animals that look like failed genetic experiments pressed desperately up against the fences looking for human contact or escape.

Anyway, thanks to the internet, it was not too hard to determine, although one of my older cousins who is here keeping me company swore it had hooves and fur and spit and guarded cattle ( she is from Texas and a lot of things in Texas fit that description). I did think briefly about getting an emu and tying it to the bushes in back of the hotel courtyard and having it voluntarily drip oil into small blue bottles from under its wing or somewhere. Then I saw a vision of Mike Neder’s face when he heard about my emu, and I quickly discarded that idea. I also was afraid that “rendering” might mean something more drastic and I have ENOUGH barnyard karma as it is! A couple of my nieces have emailed me some sources for the oil which sounds much easier, so I think I will get some – I am fascinated by emu oil now – I just hope it comes in a bottle that says “no emus were injured in the collection of this oil”.

  1. Anything that cute MUST be good for healing. Isn’t he adorable? I’m curious about the rendering part, as well. Having been on a ranch for the past 38 years, I do know where a lot of stuff comes from but don’t think an Emu has any of those parts…. Post if you find out! Love you! jess

  2. Susan I love you! and I pray for your health daily!
    That out of the way I have to say that Emu oil is incredible! My ex’s Dad was having problems with thinning skin. I mean, you could tug his arm to try to get his attention and the skin would come off! Really bad! He ordered Emu oil off the internet at the urging of his daughter and uses it daily for the past year or more. He doesn’t have problems with rips anymore, and even isn’t afraid to play with his dog anymore!(a very playful Rottweiller) I think it’s a fantastic idea for you to try! But, um, don’t think too hard about the “rendering” I don’t think you want to know…
    Love, peace and prayers,
    Paloma

  3. You are the funniest down but not out patient I know! I think the “cure” for you is laughter. Now that you have been laughing your way to good health for a month and a half, isn’t it about time you stop this nonsense and come home!

  4. He looks like he could be a dangerous adversary in the emu extraction process!

  5. I think he looks like a failed genetic experiment pressed desperately up against your computer screen looking for human contact or escape…or to avoid being rendered. Which HAS to be awkward.

  6. I don’t know if I should admit this but I own emu oil! Picked it up in Nova Scotia at an Emu Farm. How funny is that. I would be more than happy to share it with you when you come home. Thanks for keeping us all apart of your journey. Miss ya.

Leave a Reply

