Susan Neder

Hedgehogs

In Cancer of the "Netherlands", Chemo/Radiation, Hair Today/Gone Tomorrow on December 7, 2010 at 7:06 pm

After almost three weeks of growth on this haircut, Cindy told me I was beginning to resemble a hedgehog (don’t you love kids?). At my look of consternation she quickly assured me that she did not mean all of me, just my hair.

When that did not seem to console me, she rattled on about how wonderful and cute hedgehogs are. She then insisted that I look at pictures of hedgehogs on the internet. After looking at 25 pictures of hedgehogs, I found one that looked sort of cute, but the rest were alarming looking. Cindy is now trying to convince me that hedgehogs are good “totem animals” for fighting cancer – they persevere and are impervious to poison, etc.

I am not convinced….I tried using mousse to plaster my hair down, but she said my head looked like it had been licked by a large cat.

I think I need a haircut.

  1. Bwhahahahaha. Snerk.

    “Licked by a large cat.” –Cancer comedy gold.

    And that’s the freakiest little hedgehog I’ve ever seen. It’s almost as if someone is squeezing the poor baby. You don’t look like a hedgehog that’s being squeezed–you’ve got that going for you.

    I said it before, and I’ll say it again–you look pretty rad with this new doo. Not to worry. Spike it up, Mama.

  2. He’s really very cute but I think he’s upset about something… maybe his hair …. Good fun! Jess

  3. Susan, I wanted to make a witty comment, but I’m too drunk. Hedgehogs are awesome, no matter what anyone says :).

Leave a Reply

