Susan Neder

Glub…glub…’s

In Cancer of the "Netherlands", Taking on Water on December 6, 2010 at 8:09 pm

It is the end of the second week of my “DC” adventure in Denver (funny how it feels longer than that!). This has been a frustrating week, because my white blood cell count and platelet levels fell so low that I could not have radiation. I have been getting those daily shots and they finally began to work yesterday, but slowly. By the way, I now know what it feels like to have your bones hurt. It feels like you’ve been run over by a truck. However, I have learned that the more it hurts, the more it is working, so I am not complaining.

I am not allowed to go anywhere near groups of people because when your white cell count is too low so is your immune system, and they told me to stay away from sharp objects because my platelets are so low (that has to do with an ability to clot), but it does make me sound a bit mental, doesn’t it? The doctors say that lots of water helps the side effects, so I am now taking on more water than the Titanic on that fateful night – 100 oz or more everyday. The way I am managing that is to drink 8 oz of water each hour I am awake. It is not overwhelming that way and it works. I will keep that up “AC”…glub….glub…..

If you have any spare white blood cells or an overabundance of platelets, please send them up here.  Every day I can’t have radiation just prolongs the process and I am NOT a fan of that!

  1. I have a few extra cells, etc. that I’m more than willing to send your way. I have problems drinking the recommended 8 glasses of water a day — Wow — so imagine the plumbing is getting a workout as well. You’re a doll — just keep drinking! (Don’t you wish they’d told you that in college?) Love you! Jess

  2. The only thing I hate about drinking water is that it cuts down on the room you have for ice cream. When you get tired of water, try ice cream. when it hits your stomach, it’s liquid. Water/ice cream/liquid. It’s all the same. Just don’t use the chocolate chip or Oreo type. The non-liquid type puts weight on you. And who wants that!

    It was great seeing you yesterday…You are our inspiration!

  3. I love you Susan!!! And your guts in your writing… along with your sense of sensibility when most people would be breaking the lamps next to their beds is inspiring!!! Sending you lots of healing and white blood cells and platelets that are tailored made for your body & its amazing ability to use them for the fastest most complete healing possible!!! And leaving you in even more fantastic shape ever on all levels of YOU!!! Quickly NOW!!!
    Keep the Faith.. and know that we are with you *
    I love you, Joy

  4. Susan…do you remember the time that you & I were at PSI Basic in November of 05…& we went to the Cherry Creek Mall to shop on one of days there??? And we went to try on clothes at the shops there & laughed our heads off while trying on these amazing crazy teenybopper clothes??? I still remember that time & how hysterically crazy with giddiness we felt!!!
    I am wishing some of that for you now***
    love, Joy

  5. Sending you lots of love. you could add a little fruit juice to spice up that water or a little chlorophyll (sp)..seriousy, it tastes minty. If Peggy is still there she knows what I am talking about. Thinking about you.

  6. I’m so happy you have this blog up Aunt Susan! It helps me to feel connected to you while I am so far away. I’m sending lots of love and good thoughts your way and have my church praying for you! Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

