Susan Neder

Ludicrous

In Ludicrous to the Rescue! on December 3, 2010 at 8:40 pm

The literature on cancer is in agreement that cancer patients need a constructive way to release anger. A foam bat that can be beat on furniture is probably the biggest seller for this, but instead of that, Cindy brought me a squishy gel ball that lights up and can be beat on things or squished with your hands. It is hot pink with orange rubber “hair” sticking out all over. Mike took one look at it and said it looked like a cancer cell to him. We decided to think of it as a cancer fighting cell instead, and I bonded with it right away; it hangs out with me a lot and I consider it a part of the team here.

For some reason unknown to me, I decided to name it “Ludicrous” – it is absurd looking. What I did not know was there is a “gansta rappa” with that name. After the kids told me that I decided that might be okay – I could use a very aggressive “gansta rappa” on my team! They played some of his music for me and all I can think is that this man is probably making millions with those songs and they are BEYOND AWFUL, but I’m giving Will the job of making up new words for the song “Move Bitch”. He is very talented with that sort of thing. He wrote new words to “Supercalafragalisticexpealidotious” that describes my diagnosis. I think it may still be a work in progress but so far it goes something like “metastatic-rectal-cancer-squamous-cell-carcinoma, yes it could be worse, you could be in a coma”. If I can get him to write the lyrics down I will share them with you, but it still has a few rough spots yet……..Cindy and Libby are in charge of choreography for the new rap song. I will let you know how that goes.

Meanwhile, Ludicrous and I shall persevere!

Love,

Susan

  1. I’m not sure if I should feel relief or sadness that I’m not included in the choreography team for the Ludacris number. I’ve got all the evidence on video–don’t forget.

    Go Team Ludicrous!

  2. Susan,

    I’ve just finished reading through your blog entries, and damnit, I’m getting strange looks at the coffee shop. I laughed and I teared up (not to be confused with crying, you see). I cursed the gods loudly. By the time I had rend my shirt in two and ash was on my forehead, people were leaving.

    But seriously, Susan, I want to beat up the universe for doing this to you. It’s not fair. And screw the “life’s not fair” rhetoric, damnit it should be. Crap, that’s two “damnits” in two paragraphs. Strike that, three.

    At any rate, you are demonstrating remarkable resolve, and I can only hope I’d be half as strong in your circumstances. Keep fighting. Lori and I will do anything for you.

  3. We will need to see some vidoes if there is any singing or dancing going on!

  4. I see all kinds of new skits from the Needer side of the Family at the 2012 Reunion.
    Susan- thanks for keeping this blog of yours going. I don’t know how much it helps you, but I do know how much it helps me to keep in the “know” of things, especially your take on it. I am always thinking of you and sending positive thoughts your way.
    Love-
    Lisa

  5. Suz: I have often thought those balls (Ludicrous, et al) looked like my hair in the morning! However, “Cancer-fighting-warrior” (CFW) may be right on. Tell Will that he probably has a future in re-writing some of the junk that seems to sell so well!

  6. Hello Dawlin’. Thinking of you today and sending you lots of love.
    Jen

  7. After you wipe out your Ludicrous, let’s all wipe out the other one! See you Sunday and can’t wait.

  8. HI my sista,
    I am seeing a new future in your creative family for treatment for cancer patients… I think you might want to UTUBE this rap and dance routine and even take it on the road after your recovery. I love you lots and continue to keep you in my daily prayers.

  9. Susan,

    Every time I read one of your updates I am reminded of how absolutely amazing you and your family are! There’s no way in the world you will not beat this thing. God will keep you with your “crazy” family! I couldn’t imagine the family without you! Your outlook on this whole thing is phenomenal and I know you will get through it!

    I also want to see these video’s! The Neder family has a bright future in showbiz!

    Thoughts and Prayers always with you,
    Tina Schroeder

  10. Susan, I agree with Kim & submit your act to Youtube. I’m happy you have such a supportive famly with such a great sense of humor!
    You are in our constant prayers.
    we love you
    Lois & Jere

Leave a Reply

