Susan Neder

Day Three of Chemo and Radiation

In Chemo/Radiation, Power of Love, Thwarted Sleep on November 20, 2010 at 6:19 pm

This is day three of chemo and radiation – so far all is well, but my sleep patterns are a little wacky -the first two days I couldn’t sleep at all – I was up in the middle of the night wishing for a 24 hour Home Depot so I could go buy a gallon of paint and paint the kitchen. The flaw in that plan is that I am in a hotel – I wonder how long it would take them to figure out the kitchen is a different color? hmmmm………

Today, I feel like I could sleep all day, so who knows what tomorrow will be like? I have decided that any day that something does not fall out or off is a good day – no unreasonable expectations for this roller coaster ride! The staff in the radiation place has started wearing masks around me – this is slightly disconcerting – are they protecting themselves from me, or are they protecting me from them? I must remember to ask. Thank you to everyone for sending picture and emails to me and posting comments – I can’t always answer each one personally, but it really means so much to read them – it always gives me great strength, so please keep posting even if I don’t get back to you right away. You know, the journey of healing is sometimes a transformation ( not too get too serious on you) and I know now that I will never ever again take for granted the power of family and friends and the power of love.

Susan

  1. Thinking of you again today dear friend. My prayers are for you to experience more of the grace and strength of our precious Lord. Let it surround you and comfort you. When all is said and done, it’s not about what you are able to do, but what you are inside with his love. Sometimes there just isn’t anything else.

  2. Hi Susan,
    sounds like you are in your restless,”just got to do something” mode!!!I have cans of paint…which color strikes your fancy? We won’t tell the hotel. Just send them a bill for decorating!!!Glad that you are starting to sleep. You have gone through a lot of emotions in the past few weeks and it is absoluletly draining and exhausting…glad you can finally get some much needed rest. We are heading over to feed your two puddy cats. I will call later.
    Love you,

  3. Hang in there Sweetie – baby steps will get you there. Love you.

  4. Hang tough Susan! Is there a local library…for either books or books on tape. That puts me right to sleep ;-}
    Know we are all thinking about you and sending positive thoughts your way-
    Love-
    Lisa

  5. Today seems like a good day for sleep for me too! (I could get fired — but, oh well!) I’m thinking a bright yellow for their kitchen. Heh! they need to be lightening up and you’d be da girl to take care of that! What a hoot!

Leave a Reply

