Susan Neder

Young Ladies of Quality….

In Cancer of the "Netherlands" on November 6, 2010 at 3:58 pm

This is not really day one – day one was the day that the doctor said I had a squamous cell carcinoma – Oct 19 – I was sad and then I got really angry – and then I got scared – you name it, I felt it. But I think of day one now as yesterday. Me and Farah Faucett – I think the people who are identified as “at risk”  are girls who went to UT and had big frosted hair in the late 60s, and gay men. Oh well – being a southern young lady of quality – having “unmentionable cancer” is cancer that I prefer to think of as cancer of the “nether regions” – those private areas – my son , Will, pointed out that that type of cancer does not have its own ribbon – it is not an “acceptable” cancer, like breast cancer – I mean what color would the ribbon be? brown? No. So, cancer of the “nether areas” should use the colors of the flag of the Netherlands – so we have ordered lapel pins of the Netherland flag to wear – then people can ask, how are your “Netherlands” and I can answer appropriately or not, but it is not quite so awfully tacky –  I have been told that the next step for me is chemo and radiation together everyday for 4 weeks  but I will let you know when I know for sure – but I think head scarves and wigs are in my future. Thank you for your support – Love, Susan

  1. Hi Susan,
    I don’t know if you remember me from my brief visit to your home last June. I had a wonderful time talking with you, and when Emily mentioned your blog, I knew I’d be visiting it to keep up with you.

    I love the idea of ‘The Netherlands’. I thought I was the only person to refer to that area as ‘nether regions’! Also…if I’d known you were going to be in need of a wig, I would have saved the foot and a half of hair I cut off a few months ago!

    Keep your chin up. I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

